### NORTH WEST LEICESTERSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

### **ANNUAL COUNCIL - 21 MAY 2013**

Title of report	APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND GROUPS, ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN
Contact	Councillor Nick Rushton 01530 412059 nicholas.rushton@nwleicestershire.gov.uk  Head of Legal and Support Services 01530 454762 elizabeth.warhurst@nwleicestershire.gov.uk
Purpose of report	To appoint the Committees and Groups of the Council and members to serve thereon and also to elect the chairmen and deputy chairmen.
Council's Priorities	Value for Money.
Implications:	
Financial/staff	None.
Link to relevant Corporate Action Team	None.
Risk management	None.
Equalities Impact Assessment	Not applicable.
Human rights	None.
Transformational Government	None.
Comments of the Head of Paid Service	The report is satisfactory
Comments of the Section 151 Officer	The report is satisfactory
Comments of the Monitoring Officer	The report is satisfactory
Consultees	Leaders of Political Groups.
Background papers	None.
Recommendations	(A) TO MAKE THE APPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMITTEES AND GROUPS LISTED IN PARAGRAPH 1.2 OF THE REPORT.

(B) THAT CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN BE APPOINTED FOR THE COMMITTEES AND GROUPS LISTED IN PARAGRAPH 2.1 OF THE REPORT.

#### 1.0 APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES AND GROUPS

- 1.1 In accordance with the Constitution Members must, at the Council's Annual Meeting, receive nominations of Councillors to serve on each board or committee and appoint to those boards or committees.
- 1.2 The Committees and Groups include:
  - Planning Committee (17 Members)
  - Licensing Committee (17 Members)
  - Audit and Governance Committee (10 Members)
  - Policy Development Group (10 Members)
  - Investigatory Committee (3 Members)
  - Appointments Committee (4 Members plus appropriate Portfolio Holder)
  - Employee Joint Consultative Committee (6 Members)
  - Opportunities for People with Disabilities Group (6 Members)
  - Grants Review Working Party (6 members)
  - Electoral Review Working Party (5 Members)

#### 2.0 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN

- 2.1 Members are asked to appoint the Chairmen and Deputy Chairman to the following:
  - Planning Committee
  - Licensing Committee
  - Policy Development Group
  - Audit and Governance Committee

#### 3.0 NOMINATIONS

3.1 Nominations for the seats on the above committees and groups will be circulated at the meeting.

#### **APPENDIX 1 - NOMINATIONS FOR COMMITTEES AND GROUPS**

## **APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (5 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Councillor R Blunt Councillor J Legrys Councillor A Smith Councillor L Spence Appropriate Portfolio Holder	

### **AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (10 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Chairman: Councillor T Neilson Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Cotterill	
Councillor G Allman Councillor A Bridges Councillor D De Lacy Councillor D Everitt Councillor G Jones Councillor C Large Councillor N Smith Councillor R Woodward	

#### **COALVILLE SPECIAL EXPENSES WORKING PARTY**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Ward members for: Bardon Coalville Greenhill Snibston Thringstone	Ward members for: Bardon Coalville Greenhill Snibston Thringstone

## **ELECTORAL REVIEW WORKING PARTY (5 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Councillor R Blunt Councillor J Legrys Councillor N Rushton Councillor A Smith Councillor L Spence	Councillor R Blunt Councillor J Legrys Councillor N Rushton Councillor A Smith Councillor L Spence

### **EMPLOYEE JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (6 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Councillor R Adams Councillor A Bridges Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D De Lacy Councillor D Howe Councillor C Large	
Substitutes: Councillors J Bridges, N Clarke, T Gillard & R Johnson	

### **GRANTS REVIEW WORKING PARTY (6 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Councillor P Clayfield Councillor J Cotterill Councillor J Legrys Councillor J Ruff Councillor N Smith Councillor D Stevenson	

## **INVESTIGATORY COMMITTEE (3 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Councillor R Blunt Councillor A Smith Councillor L Spence	
Substitutes: Councillors R Bayliss, J Legrys & T Pendleton	

# **LICENSING COMMITTEE (17 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Chairman: Councillor N Smith Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Coxon	
Councillor R Adams Councillor G Allman Councillor A Bridges Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D Everitt Councillor P Hyde Councillor G Jones Councillor C Large Councillor L Massey Councillor T Neilson Councillor V Richichi Councillor J Ruff Councillor M Specht Councillor R Woodward Councillor M Wyatt	
Substitutes: Councillors J Bridges, D De Lacy, R Holland, J Hoult, D Howe & L Spence	

# **OPPORTUNITIES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES GROUP (6 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Councillor G Allman Councillor P Clayfield Councillor L Massey Councillor V Richichi Councillor J Ruff Councillor M Specht	

# **PLANNING COMMITTEE (17 members)**

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Chairman: Councillor D Stevenson Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Bridges	
Councillor R Adams Councillor G Allman Councillor J Cotterill Councillor J Coxon Councillor D Everitt Councillor J Geary Councillor J Hoult Councillor D Howe Councillor R Johnson Councillor G Jones Councillor J Legrys Councillor S Sheahan Councillor N Smith Councillor M Specht Councillor M Wyatt	
Substitutes: Councillors R Blunt, A Bridges, N Clarke, T Gillard, P Hyde & T Neilson	

# POLICY DEVELOPMENT GROUP (10 members)

Appointments for 2012/13	Nominees for 2013/14
Chairman: Councillor T Gillard Deputy Chairman: Councillor R Holland	
Councillor N Clarke Councillor P Clayfield Councillor J Cotterill Councillor J Coxon Councillor D Everitt Councillor T Neilson Councillor A Saffell Councillor N Smith	
Substitutes: Councillors R Adams, A Bridges, D Howe, C Meynell, V Richichi & R Woodward	